Juggling Social Media

Welcome to my first blog!

Lately, I’ve found myself often thinking of social media and the role it plays in my life.

I’ve been an avid Facebook user for about five years, yet it feels like it’s always been a part of my life.  In my personal life, I use social media (Facebook) to connect with friends, family and colleagues, and I use it for research, fashion and entertainment.  In my professional life, I use it to communicate with our employees, the community, our clients, the media, our peers, our donors, and anyone touched by our organization.  We have accounts on Facebook (both Friend and Fan pages), Twitter, YouTube, and most recently, we’ve created a corporate blog.

In order to stay current and better position myself as a social media expert, I thought it wise to enroll in a social media program.  Coincidentally, I as I turned on the radio on Friday of last week, I heard the commercial announcing that Algonquin College offered an online course in Social media – I registered the same night.


Week One of the program wasn’t half way through and already I was revamping the organization’s strategies, accounts, and our approach; I was inspired.  I read countless articles and blogs and watched several videos on the impact social media can have on business and reputation, and how important it is to respond to comments and engage readers.

Here are a few interesting pieces I thought I would share with you.

Mashable – 5 Key Tips for a Successful Social Media Content Strategy
Chris Brogan – Social Media in the Workplace

Anick

~ by Anick on January 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
